• 联系我们
  • 订阅

实现准确的批次生产周期预测,提高按时交付率

借助人工智能/机器学习 (AI/ML) 提高批次生产预测的准确性
Achieve Accurate Blog

目前预测批次生产周期的统计方法平均只能达到 70% 的准确率,对于希望提高生产效率、产线忙碌的晶圆厂而言,该准确度无法满足其需求。最终,由于统计模型无法体现晶圆厂的实时生产动态,因此晶圆厂的团队每天都要花费大量时间核查预测数据,并重新进行预测以获得准确的数据。这表明晶圆厂需要采用一种更快速、简单、准确的解决方案来预测每 14 天为一周期的批次生产周期。在最近的一个客户应用中,SmartFactory AI Productivity 解决方案和 Engineered Works® 被证明可以将生产预测的准确率提高到 85%。

通过一些实验研究,我们确定最适合该客户需求的ML 模型是基于梯度提升树的机器学习模型,特别是基于轻量梯度提升机的模型部署。该框架在行业中已得到广泛应用。由于该框架用于对表格数据进行预测,对未知数据具有很强的生成属性,同时抗噪声能力強,因此非常适合该客户。

借助 SmartFactory AI Productivity解决方案,根据之前 24 个月的工厂数据,我们对 ML 模型进行了训练。对于特征计算,我们定义了多个可表示批次流程和晶圆厂生产行为的特征,例如工作站统计数据和 WIP(在制品)特征,我们每天都会根据批次优先级,并针对每个路线或部件的站点对这些特征进行计算。我们使用 Clickhouse 数据库来存储特征数据。

该 ML 模型建立在当前工作系统之上,因此该 ML 模块和当前 RTD 或排程解决方案可相互协作和通信。该 ML 模型已被训练为可基于排程(包括每小时、每天或按班次)运行,并且已学习了从任一站点到最终站点的批次流程和当前晶圆厂生产行为。它将为每个站点创建一个模型,以预测最终站点的生产周期。例如,如果在站点 A 有一个批次,并且在生产完成之前还有 12 个站点,则将生成 12 个模型,一个模型对应一个站点,以预测到最后一个站点的生产周期。每个模型都将接受各项训练,包括历史特征数据、从当前站点到最终站点的 WIP 概况、利用率、设备可用性和批次优先级。这些模型被保存在磁盘的 pickle 文件中,并聚合到一个主 pickle 文件中供 Formatter 程序使用。可将这些模型部署到生产中。图 1 显示了部署的详细信息和结果。

Figure 1: Shows details of deployment and results
图 1:显示部署的详细信息和结果

如当前 RTD 或排程解决方案系统需要某种预测,它会参考 ML 模块已经做出的预测。ML 模型可基于之前训练数据中未涵盖的条件自动重新训练,并会对预测做出修改,使结果更加准确。

有了准确的工厂生产预测模型,晶圆厂可以更好地确定造成批次延误的原因,提高订单交付速度,例如可通过更改派工规则参数来加快延迟批次的生产。

训练完成后,我们会基于测试数据集对面向客户开发的 ML 模型进行评估。我们对模型评估和准确性定义做出如下指标,并以此作为关键性能指标:均方根误差 (RMSE) 和平均绝对误差 (MAE)。我们将准确度指标定义为 1 平均绝对百分比误差,即每批次预测准确度的平均值。我们的准确性比较的结果显示,ML 模型的结果比基线模型要准确 5% 至 13%。准确性提高约 10% 可使按时交付率 (OTD) 提高 2%,库存维护成本降低 2%。

关于作者

Jeong Cheol Seo
Jeong Cheol Seo
Connect with us on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/applied-smartfactory/ to begin your journey towards creating a world class factory today.

• Subscribe

Achieve accurate lot cycle time predictions for more on-time deliveries

Improve the accuracy of lot fab out predictions with AI/ML

The current statistical method of predicting lot cycle time is, on average, only 70 percent accurate—not a reliable level of accuracy for a busy fab looking to increase productivity. Ultimately, fab teams spend a significant amount of time each day reviewing prediction data and developing new, accurate predictions because the statistical model cannot represent real-time dynamics in the fab. This points to a need for a faster, easier, and more accurate solution for predicting lot cycle time in 14-day increments. In a recent customer application, SmartFactory AI Productivity and Engineered Works® were proven to improve fab out prediction accuracy to 85 percent.

Through some experimental studies, we determined the most appropriate ML model for this customer’s needs was a gradient boosted tree-based machine learning model, particularly the Light Gradient Boosted Machine implementation. Widely used in the industry, this was particularly suitable because this framework is used to make predictions in tabular data, has strong generalization property on unseen data, and is robust against noise.

Using SmartFactory AI Productivity, the ML model was trained on the previous 24 months’ fab out data. For the feature calculation, we defined several features that can represent the lot flow and fab behavior, such as station statistics and WIP (work in process) features which are calculated daily by lot priority and by the steps of each route or part. A Clickhouse database was used to store feature data.

The ML model was built and located on top of the current working systems, so the ML module and the current RTD or scheduling solution collaborate and communicate with each other. The ML model has been trained to run based on schedules including hourly, daily or by shift, and has learned the lot flow and current fab behavior from any one step to the final. It will create one model per step to predict cycle time at the final step. For example, if there is a lot at step A and 12 steps are remaining until fab out, then 12 models will be generated, one model per step pair to predict the cycle time until the final step. Each model will be trained on the historical feature data, WIP profile from the current step to the final step, utilization, tool availability, and lot priority. These models are saved to pickle files on disk, and all are aggregated into one main pickle file for Formatter. These can be deployed to production.
You can see the details of deployment and the results in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Shows details of deployment and results
Figure 1: Shows details of deployment and results

When the current RTD or scheduling solution system needs a certain prediction, it will refer to those the ML module has made. The ML model automatically retrains based on conditions not covered in its past training data and the predictions are modified and become more accurate as a result.

With an accurate fab out prediction model, fabs can better determine reasons for late lots and improve order to delivery, for example by changing dispatching rule parameters to expedite the late lots.

The ML model developed for the customer was evaluated based on test data set after the training was completed. Metrics defined for model evaluation and accuracy included as key performance indicators: Root Mean Squared Error (RMSE) and Mean Absolute Error (MAE). We defined the accuracy metric as 1-Mean Absolute percentage error, meaning the average of each lot’s prediction accuracy. Our accuracy comparison showed the ML model had 5 to 13% better results than baseline model. This approximately 10% accuracy increase could lead to a 2% on time delivery (OTD) increase and 2% inventory maintenance cost reductions.

About the Author

Jeong Cheol Seo
Jeong Cheol Seo
Connect with us on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/applied-smartfactory/ to begin your journey towards creating a world class factory today.