• 联系我们
  • 订阅

半导体工厂各种排程解决方案的利弊

选择适合您工厂需求的排程解决方案

可以使用各种方法和技术为生产车间创建计划。 这些方法和技术包括:使用简单的先进先出 (FIFO) 或以交货日期排序 (DDO) 规则,考虑当前在制品 (WIP) 和/或未来在制品 (WIP) 以及简单/基本的生产周期假设,基于手动/ Excel 形式的方法;基于生产区域规则的启发式排程;基于模拟的排程,以及基于优化的排程。 此外,还可以采用混合方法来预测未来在制品 (WIP) 的到达,并对批次进行排序以生成排程。 方法的选择和应用会影响排程的质量以及解决方案所能产生的生产效益。 同时,不同类型的排程系统对工厂输入数据的质量和准确性的要求也随之提高。

通常,排程解决方案需要提取工厂数据,并将其转换或转化为解决方案输入数据。 然后,排程引擎(无论采用何种方法)根据不同的考虑因素和目标应用逻辑,生成排程输出数据。 然后,这些数据经过处理,以用户友好的可视化和分析格式发布成计划,供最终用户使用。 这个过程如下图1所示。

Figure 1: Scheduling solution process flow
图1:排程解决方案工艺流程

下面将介绍各种方法和技术的一些优点和局限性。

基于启发式方法的排程解决方案

这是一种基于规则的批次分配和排序方法。 人工操作的工厂采用简单的先进先出 (FIFO)、以交货日期排序 (DDO) 或批次优先方法进行排程,会降低生产力。 使用基于区域、产品组合、设备配置和工厂目标的更复杂的启发式方法,可以快速提高设备利用率、产出和设备组的生产周期。

基于模拟的排程解决方案

在模拟排程中,模型根据工厂中所有设备的当前状态和位置,使用模拟来预测未来批次或在制品 (WIP) 的到达情况。 仿真排程被视为工厂的排程系统;它还可以与区域排程系统协同工作,将其输出作为下游区域的输入。

基于优化的排程解决方案

在优化排程中,混合整数编程 (MIP) 或约束规划 (CP) 模型根据生产区域的加权目标函数进行批次分配和指派,从而创建最优的设备排程。 优化排程系统是一种区域排程系统,可以与基于仿真的工厂排程系统集成。

下面的表2可以让您轻松了解每种解决方案的优点。

每种解决方案的积极属性

启发式方法 模拟 优化
易于开发、配置和部署
更准确的未来批次/在制品 (WIP) 到达预测
最佳可行和最优排程
易于学习、扩展和自定义
可以对整厂进行排程,并在排程中执行派工规则
详细的设备建模
改善 KPI 的早期收益
在非生产环境中验证派工规则
更好的瓶颈管理
对输入数据要求/质量的适度敏感性
可跨多个工厂和公司进行扩展,实现更好的生产线平衡
对不断变化的工厂条件和目标保持敏感并做出响应

表 2:基于启发式、模拟和优化的排程解决方案的积极属性

每种解决方案或技术也有其局限性,如下表 3 所示。

每种解决方案的局限性

启发式方法 模拟 优化
可能需要不断进行微调
对工厂数据质量、延迟和粒度高度敏感
对工厂数据质量、延迟和粒度高度敏感
没有实现所有潜在的生产收益
使用简化版派工规则实施
难以解释排程系统的决定
需要在生产环境中进行效果评估
不是数学上的最优解
需要更长的部署时间
通常能提供良好但非最佳的解决方案
维护所需资源增加
维护所需资源增加
对不断变化的工厂条件和目标不敏感,反应迟钝
模型性能时间与问题大小呈非线性关系

表 3:启发式、模拟和优化的排程解决方案的局限性

结论

工厂应根据对工厂需求的评估来选择排程软件解决方案。 理想情况下,解决方案应能很好地满足这些要求、工厂当前和未来吸收新技术和业务实践的成熟度,以及现有软件解决方案的功能。 以下问题有助于您的决策过程:

  • 工厂需要全厂排程系统还是生产区域排程系统?
  • 您的瓶颈情况和瓶颈的性质是什么?
  • 工厂自动化的当前基准
  • 全面了解工厂数据的生成、可用性、收集、存储和处理能力
  • 帮助实施和支持排程自动化愿景的技术资源可用性

启发式排程、模拟排程和优化排程都可以帮助您改善工厂 KPI,每种方法都有其优点和缺点。 您应该充分了解这些排程方法的适用性和能力,以确保在您的工厂成功实施。

不过,需要注意的是,没有经验和没有实施过复杂自动化排程解决方案的公司应考虑部署基于启发式方法的排程。 这将帮助您在工厂改进方面尽早实现投资回报率 (ROI),同时还能积累经验和专业知识。 在目前没有派工或排程系统的公司实施基于模拟或优化的更复杂的排程解决方案,可能会导致学习曲线过浅或部署不成功。

关于作者

Ravi Jaikumar
Ravi Jaikumar
Connect with us on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/applied-smartfactory/ to begin your journey towards creating a world class factory today.

• Subscribe

Pros and cons of various scheduling solutions for semiconductor factories

Choose scheduling that will be the right fit for your factory needs

Schedules can be created for the production floor using a variety of methodologies and technologies. These include: manual/Excel-based methods using simple FIFO or DDO rules which consider current work in process (WIP) and/or future WIP with simple/basic cycle time assumptions; area specific rules-based heuristic scheduling; simulation-based scheduling, and optimization-based scheduling. Methodologies also can be hybrid for both predicting future WIP arrival and for sequencing the lots to generate schedules. The choice and application of a methodology has an impact on the quality of the scheduling, as well as the productivity benefits the solutions can yield. At the same time, requirements for the quality and accuracy of the factory input data also increase across different types of scheduling systems.

Typically, a scheduling solution requires factory data to be extracted and converted or transformed to solution input data. Then the scheduling engine (regardless of methodology) applies the logic based on different considerations and objectives to generate scheduling output data. This then gets processed and published as schedules for end users to consume in a user friendly visual and analytical format. This is represented in figure 1, below.

Figure 1: Scheduling solution process flow
Figure 1: Scheduling solution process flow
The following looks at some of the benefits and limitations of the various methodologies and technologies.

Heuristics based scheduling solutions

This is a rule-based approach to lot assignment and sequencing. Manual factories lose productivity by deploying a simple FIFO, DDO, or lot priority approach to scheduling. Using more sophisticated heuristics based on the area, product mix, tool configuration and factory objectives will quicky improve tool utilization, throughput and cycle time of the tool sets.

Simulation based scheduling solutions

In simulation scheduling, models use simulation to predict future lot or WIP arrival based on their current status and position for all the tools in the factory. Simulation scheduling is considered a fab scheduler; it also can work with area schedulers by using their output as an input for downstream areas.

Optimization based scheduling solutions

In optimization scheduling, Mixed Integer Programming (MIP) or Constrained Programming (CP) models do lot allocation and assignment based on area-specific weighted objective functions, creating optimal equipment schedules. Optimization schedulers are area schedulers that can integrate with simulation-based factory schedulers.

Table 2, below, allows you to easily see the advantages of each solution.

Positive attributes of each solution

Heuristics Simulation Optimization
Easy to develop, configure and deploy
More accurate future lot/WIP arrival prediction
Best possible feasible and optimal schedules
Simple to learn, extend and customize
Can schedule for the whole factory and implement dispatch rules in scheduling
Detailed equipment modeling
Early gains for KPI improvements
Validate dispatch rules in a non-production environment
Better bottleneck management
Moderate sensitivity to input data requirements/quality
Scales across sites and companies and achieves better line balancing
Sensitive and responsive to changing factory conditions and objectives
Table 2: Positive attributes of heuristic, simulation, and optimization-based scheduling solutions
There also are limitations to each solution or technology, as shown in Table 3, below.

Limitations of each solution

Heuristics Simulation Optimization
May require constant fine tuning
Highly sensitive to factory data quality, latency, and granularity
Highly sensitive to factory data quality, latency, and granularity
Doesn't realize all potential gains for production
Uses a simplified version of dispatch rules implementation
Difficult to explain scheduler decisions
Needs to be in production environment to assess effectiveness
Not a mathematically optimal solution
Need longer deployment time
Often provides a good but not optimal solution
Higher resource requirements for maintenance
Higher resource requirements for maintenance
Not sensitive and responsive to changing factory conditions and objectives
Model performance time nonlinear with problem size

Table 3: Limitations of heuristic, simulation, and optimization-based scheduling solutions

Conclusion

Factories should select a scheduling software solution based on assessment of their factory requirements. Ideally, the solution should be a good fit between those requirements, your current and future maturity levels to absorb new technology and business practices, and capabilities of the software solutions available to you. The following questions can help in your decision-making process:

  • Does the factory need a factory wide scheduler or an area scheduler?
  • What is your bottleneck situation and the nature of your bottleneck?
  • Current baseline of your factory automation
  • Comprehensive account of your factory data generation, availability, gathering, storing, and processing capabilities
  • Skilled resource availability to help implement and support your scheduling automation vision

Heuristics, simulation, and optimization scheduling all help improve factory KPIs, and each has its pros and cons. Factories should gain a good understanding of the suitability and capability of these varieties of scheduling to ensure successful implementation.

However, it is important to note that companies without prior experience and implementation of a sophisticated and automated scheduling solution should consider deploying heuristics-based scheduling. This will help you achieve early ROI in terms of factory improvement and, at the same time, allow you to gain experience and expertise. Implementation of more sophisticated scheduling solutions based on simulation or optimization in a company that has no existing dispatching or scheduling system could result in a shallow learning curve or an unsuccessful deployment.

About the Author

Ravi Jaikumar
Ravi Jaikumar
Connect with us on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/applied-smartfactory/ to begin your journey towards creating a world class factory today.