• 联系我们
  • 订阅

SmartFactory 私有云——第 1 篇:部署路线图

框架使得在云环境中规划和实施 APF 解决方案变得更加便捷和高效

访谈

技术总监 Madhav Kidambi 就我们 SmartFactory Productivity 团队开发的新路线图进行了讨论,该路线图旨在让客户更轻松地在云环境中规划和实施应用材料公司的 APF 解决方案。

我们“洞察力博客”的博主Cindy McVey与Madhav Kidambi 进行了一场对话,探讨是什么促使该团队创建了新的云产品路线图,以及在客户决定如何部署应用程序时,该路线图会给客户带来什么好处。 另外,他们还讨论了实时派工 (RTD) 私有云的发布,这是该路线图上的第一个 SmartFactory Productivity 产品。

洞察力博客:您是如何着手制定 APF 云产品路线图的?

Madhav: 我们知道“云产品”这个词可以有不同的解释,因此我们深知,首先必须定义它在不同环境中的含义,这包括应用程序是否支持云,以及是否仅在托管的云环境中运行。

根据这些定义,我们创建了一个路线图,将当前在本地部署的产品迁移到云环境中。 我们开发的这个路线图或框架(见图1),定义了哪些应用程序将被部署和托管在云环境中以实现这些目标。 同时,它还解决了与数据和应用程序的性能和安全性相关的问题。

图1:在本地和云环境中实施应用程序的路线图

洞察力博客:路线图如何帮助客户规划或管理其应用程序?

Madhav: 我们的客户使用路线图来确定和规划哪些应用程序可以托管在他们自己的数据中心,哪些应用程序将托管在云服务提供商的环境中或 SmartFactory (第4级)提供的环境中。

洞察力博客:您是否期望每个客户都拥有路线图上所有四个级别的解决方案?

Madhav: 不,这是一种定制化程度很高的方法,客户可以根据自身独特的性能和数据要求,选择不同级别的托管或部署解决方案。 通常情况下,关键任务应用程序在第1级或第2级运行,用于保护知识产权的应用程序也在这两个级别运行。 这些应用程序由客户端托管,数量可根据客户需求或随时部署的需要而定。

非关键任务或没有实时决策要求的应用程序根据数据安全要求在第3级或第4级运行。 在第3级,公司使用虚拟私有云,并拥有一个专属账户。 在第4级,我们为一套APF解决方案以及客户选择在此级别运行的其他产品和解决方案提供云服务。 另外,路线图可以帮助指导客户决定在哪种云环境中部署哪些解决方案。

洞察力博客:实时派工 (RTD) 私有云是创建路线图后发布的第一个 SmartFactory Productivity 产品。 您为什么首先发布这个产品?

Madhav: RTD 是关键任务应用程序,目前在 300mm 晶圆厂中占据 90% 的市场份额,并且是我们的工厂生产力产品组合中其他产品和解决方案的重要基础平台。 因此,RTD 成为首个在云环境中使用基于容器架构来部署关键任务程序的 SmartFactory Productivity 产品,是一个合理的决定。 此外,私有云还可以解决 RTD 的一些特定痛点。

例如,在本地部署系统会给客户带来许多基础设施问题,包括很难应用操作系统级别和应用程序补丁。 同时,系统升级也是一大挑战。

成本也会成为一个真正的痛点。 由于支持这些系统需要大量的服务器,因此 RTD 的基础设施成本很高。 很难证明专门为 RTD 购买新硬件需要的巨额资本支出是合理的。 这尤其是因为集中化的 IT 部门希望利用共享资源的数据中心,原因是这些数据中心更容易维护和保护,也更容易实现硬件型号的标准化。

此外,如果 RTD 的尺寸不适合预期用途,就会产生过高的成本,因为制造商要为他们不经常使用的服务付费,只是为了确保在某些时候可以使用它。

洞察力博客:RTD 如何解决或预防这些痛点?

Madhav: RTD 私有云有许多优势。 其中一个优势是,减少了此类系统所需的昂贵的本地安装和服务器的资本支出。 由于托管和部署均在客户现有的数据中心,因此可按需提供计算机资源,加快创新。 这样,制造商就可以:
  • 优化硬件使用
    • 结束物理硬件的生命周期
    • 云集群可以由价格较低、商品化程度较高的硬件组成
    • 将 APF 云和更多 APF 应用程序结合,可减少对昂贵的专用硬件的依赖
  • 降低维护应用程序的成本
  • 利用大规模并行计算做出更好的决策

洞察力博客:除了解决痛点之外,RTD 私有云还有哪些更令人兴奋的应用优势?

Madhav: 由于是使用 Kubernetes 平台开发的,应用程序的整体管理要更容易。 有了这种容器化系统,用户能够更灵活地应对不断变化的需求,而且可以在 Kubernetes 节点之间轻松移动应用程序。 应用程序通过负载平衡网关予以管理,可以在过渡到新节点之前进行隔离。 通过克隆现有生产节点应用程序,可更轻松地横向扩展派工容量,以及提供额外容量的能力。 还有一点,Kubernetes 系统能够实现快速扩展和缩减资源,且在平台变更期间不会导致 RTD 停机。

Kubernetes 还能无缝处理硬件的添加或移除,部署新的机器案例从未如此简单!

我认为客户也会很高兴,因为他们仍然拥有控制权;他们可以选择,是完全自动化还是通过云门户管理从而推出一个或多个生产节点应用程序。

有助于高效管理 APF 安装的其他一些优点包括:

  • 操作系统补丁通过应用材料公司容器镜像处理,或通过多阶段容器构建手动管理
  • 客户能够跟踪稳定版(v9.0、v9.8或v9.8.0)以适应其风险级别
  • 可通过多阶段构建和按需升级来处理额外的第三方软件包
  • 小幅增量更改将成为常态,并能随时无缝回滚

结论

我们 SmartFactory Productivity 团队的路线图可帮助您在云环境中选择和实施APF应用程序。 该路线图后发布的第一个产品是运行在私有云计算环境中、基于Kubernetes平台的容器化RTD产品,在这种环境中所有硬件和软件资源均由客户拥有和管理。 这使得开发人员能够在内部实现软件维护和升级,从而更轻松地保持系统处于最新状态;还能够快速部署和复制系统,以支持扩展、满足爬坡量产需求,并减少总体支持负担。

关于作者

Madhav Kidambi 和 Cindy McVey
Madhav Kidambi 和 Cindy McVey
Connect with us on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/applied-smartfactory/ to begin your journey towards creating a world class factory today.

• Subscribe

SmartFactory Private Cloud – Part 1: Roadmap to Deployment

Framework makes it easier to plan and implement APF solutions in the cloud

Interview

Madhav Kidambi, Technology Director, discusses a new roadmap our SmartFactory Productivity team developed to make it easier for our customers to plan and implement Applied’s APF solutions in a cloud environment.

Our Insights blogger, Cindy McVey, sat down with Madhav Kidambi to find out what motivated the team to create the new cloud offerings roadmap and how it will benefit customers as they decide how to deploy applications. They also discussed the release of Real-Time Dispatching (RTD) Private Cloud, the first SmartFactory Productivity offering on the map.
Insights: How did you go about developing the roadmap for APF cloud offerings?

Madhav: We know the term cloud offering can be interpreted in different ways, so we knew we first had to define what it means in different contexts, ranging from whether an application is cloud-enabled to operating solely in a managed cloud environment.

Based on those definitions, a roadmap then was created for migrating current on-premise offerings to cloud-based offerings. The roadmap, or framework, we developed (see figure 1) defines which applications will be deployed and hosted on a cloud to achieve these objectives. It also addresses the concerns around performance and security for data and applications.

Figure 1: Roadmap demonstrating implementation of applications on premises and in cloud environments
Insights: How does the roadmap help customers plan or manage their applications?

Madhav: Our customers use the roadmap to identify and plan which applications can be hosted in their own data centers, versus which they will host in a cloud service provider’s environment or that provided by SmartFactory (level 4).

Insights: Do you expect every customer to have solutions on all four levels on the roadmap?

Madhav: No, this is a very customized approach in which the customer chooses to host or deploy the solutions at different levels based on their unique performance and data requirements. Typically, the mission critical applications run in level 1 or level 2, as will those essential to protecting intellectual property. These are hosted by the client and may be as much as a particular client needs or wants to deploy at any time.

The applications which are not mission-critical or do not have real-time decision-making requirements run in level 3 or 4 depending on the data security requirements. At level 3, the company utilizes a virtual private cloud where they have a dedicated account. At level four, we provide cloud services for a set of APF solutions, as well as other products and solutions the customer chooses to run at this level. Again, the roadmap is there to help guide the decision as to which solutions they may want to deploy in which type of cloud environment.

Insights: The first SmartFactory Productivity offering released since creating the roadmap is Real-Time Dispatching (RTD) Private Cloud. Why did you start with this one?

Madhav: RTD is the mission critical application, which currently has 90% market share in 300 mm fabs and is the foundation platform key to the rest of the products and solutions in our factory productivity portfolio. It made the most sense then, for it to be the first SmartFactory Productivity offering on the cloud using container-based architecture for mission critical applications. There are also specific pain points around RTD that Private Cloud can address.

For example, on-premise systems present many infrastructure issues for customers including that it can be difficult to apply operating system level and application patches. Upgrading also can be a challenge.

Cost also can be a real pain point. There are high infrastructure costs surrounding RTD because of the number of servers needed to support these systems. It can be hard to justify the significant capital expenditure to purchase new hardware specifically for RTD. This is particularly the case because centralized IT departments want to utilize data centers with shared resources because they are easier to maintain and secure and can be more easily standardized on hardware models.

Additionally, if a RTD is sized inefficiently, there is excessive cost involved as the manufacturer pays for what they don’t use all the time just to make sure they have it available some of the time.

Insights: And how does RTD help solve or prevent these pain points?
Madhav: RTD private cloud offers many advantages. Among these, it reduces the expensive on-premise installations and capital expenditures of the servers needed for such a system. Because it is hosted and deployed in customers’ existing data centers, it provides on-demand availability of computer resources and allows for faster innovation. This allows the manufacturer to:
  • Optimize hardware usage
    • EOL of physical hardware
    • A cloud cluster can be made up of less expensive, more commodity hardware
    • Using APF Cloud with a larger number of APF applications can reduce the dependency on specialized expensive hardware
  • Lower the cost of ownership of maintaining the application
  • Leverage large scale parallel computing to make better decisions
Insights: What are some of the more exciting application benefits of RTD private cloud, beyond resolving the pain points?

Madhav: Because it is Kubernetes based, overall management of the applications is easier. This containerized system allows users to react more flexibly to changing demands and easily move applications between Kubernetes nodes. Managed via the load balanced gateway, applications can be isolated before being transitioned to a new node. There also is an easier horizontal scaling of both dispatching capacity and the ability to provision additional capacity simply by cloning existing production node application. And, the Kubernetes system allows for rapid expansion and contraction of resources with no downtime of RTD during platform changes.

Adding or removing hardware can also be seamlessly handled by Kubernetes—deploying a new instance of a machine has never been so easy!

I think customers will also appreciate that they are still in control; they can choose whether rolling out one or more production node applications will be completely automated or managed via the cloud portal.

Some additional benefits that help manage APF installations efficiently include:

  • OS patches handled via Applied container images, or can be manually managed via multi-stage container builds
  • Customers will be able to track stable builds (v9.0, v9.8 or v 9.8.0) to adjust to their level of risk
  • Additional 3rd party packages can be handled via multistage build and upgrade on demand
  • Small incremental changes will become the norm, with the ability at any point to roll back seamlessly.

CONCLUSION

Our SmartFactory Productivity team’s roadmap helps you choose and implement APF applications in a cloud environment. The first offering released after development of this roadmap is a containerized and Kubernetes based RTD product running in a private cloud computing environment in which all hardware and software resources are owned and managed by the customer. This enables developers to bring software maintenance and upgrades in-house to more easily stay up to date; allows for quick deployment and replication of systems to support expansion and meet ramp needs and reduces the overall support burden.

About the Author

Madhav Kidambi and Cindy McVey
Madhav Kidambi and Cindy McVey
Connect with us on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/applied-smartfactory/ to begin your journey towards creating a world class factory today.